American Dreams


Album Includes Songs By Vanessa Carlton, India.Arie, B2K featuring Marques Houston, The Beach Boys, Otis Redding and Simon and Garfunkel

Series stars Brittany Snow and Vanessa Lengies sing back-up vocals on Stacie Orrico's cover of "My Boyfriend's Back"

Available in stores and at on May 6

BURBANK, Calif. -- April 15, 2003 -- NBC Enterprises and Hip-O Records/Universal are releasing a ground-breaking new soundtrack from the hit NBC series "American Dreams" that includes songs from an all-star lineup of contemporary and '60s artists. "American Dreams Original Soundtrack: 1963-1964" (Hip-O Records) includes 15 selections heard on the popular new NBC series, including songs from contemporary artists who have made guest-starring appearances on the show this season. Those artists include Vanessa Carlton, India.Arie, B2K featuring Marques Houston and Duncan Sheik. The album also features a number of legendary artists including Martha & The Vandellas, The Beach Boys, Otis Redding, The Kinks and Simon & Garfunkel. The album will be available at and wherever music is sold starting May 6.

On NBC's "American Dreams," which airs every Sunday at 8 p.m. ET/PT, 7 p.m. CT, contemporary stars portray classic artists and perform their greatest hits of the '60s. Recordings making their album debuts on "American Dreams Original Soundtrack: 1963-1964" include Vanessa Carlton's cover of Dusty Springfield's "Wishin' And Hopin'", India.Arie's cover of Nina Simone's "Come Ye", B2K featuring Marques Houston performing The Temptations' #1 smash "My Girl", Duncan Sheik covering Bobby Darin's Top 10 hit "Beyond The Sea," Vivian Green performing Brenda Holloway's Top 20 hit "Every Little Bit Hurts" and Emerson Hart of Tonic, singing the American Dreams' original theme song "Generation."

In addition, "American Dreams" stars Brittany Snow and Vanessa Lengies make their musical debut singing backing vocals on Stacie Orrico's cover of The Angels' #1 hit "My Boyfriend's Back."

The legendary artists and their vintage tracks on "American Dreams Original Soundtrack: 1963-1964" are Martha & The Vandellas (the Top 10 "(Love Is Like A) Heat Wave"), The Zombies (the #2 "She's Not There"), The Beach Boys (the Top 40 "Don't Worry, Baby"), The Impressions (the Top 20 "People Get Ready"), The Everly Brothers (the Top 40 "Gone Gone Gone"), Otis Redding (the Top 20 R&B "That's How Strong My Love Is"), The Kinks (the Top 10 "You Really Got Me") and Simon & Garfunkel (the #1 "The Sounds Of Silence").

"We've received an overwhelming number of requests from fans of our show asking for a soundtrack album which would feature a mix of '60s songs covered by today's stars and the classic '60s hits by artists that everyone loves," says series creator and executive producer Jonathan Prince. "This year's soundtrack, hopefully the first of many to come, has some of the most memorable songs of the era that still resonate today with fans of all generations. We're proud and thrilled to be able to create a unique mix of music that captures the essence of the show."

"American Dreams" is set against the memorable, upbeat sounds of the '60s and depicts a more innocent America as seen through the eyes and ears of the youthful Pryor family of Philadelphia. The musical performances on the series are set in the context of the Dick Clark-hosted, Philly-based "American Bandstand" TV series. "American Dreams," which premiered in September 2002, is executive produced by music and television icon Clark and created and executive produced by Jonathan Prince.

American Dreams, its name and logo are a trademark and copyright of NBC Studios and Universal Television.

American Dreams is a Dick Clark Productions and Universal Network Television production in association with NBC Studios (818-840-4444).

Last modified on Sunday, 12-Sep-2010 23:22:24 CDT.